Win 7 impressions

I have an old IBM Thinkpad T42. It has a Pentium M (single core) processor runing at 1.7 Ghz with 1 Gigabyte of RAM and a 32 Megabyte ATI Radeon 7500 graphics adapter. Its hard drive was frequently blue screening on me so I decided to replace the frive and load Windows 7 on it.
 
I replaced the drive and popped in one of the Windows 7 Ultimate RTM copies I have. The nstallation went very smoothly. Windows 7 picked up all the hardware. It connected to my nework (wirelessly) with no problem.
 
I am very impressed at how smoothly and sweetly the machine is running. I am able to multitask without any major lag. I really don’t see any performance difference with the original (Windows XP) operating system. In my opinion it speaks volumes about Windows 7 that it can run so nicely on such old hardware.
 
I had previously installed the RC version on my test machine, a desktop with an AMD Athlon X2 5000, with 4 Gig of RAM. Agan the install went smoothly. It also picked up my 10+ year old Jet Direct 3 port (Parallel) Print Server, right down to the model number. I’ve had no problems with any hardware or software running on it.
 
I think Microsoft has a real winner here!
4 Comments

  1. Hi
    Considering that you are using Win 7 and are an expert in Access, i would like to make a question.
    I have several Access 2007 DB in a private net, where some users are still using Windows XP and some are using Windows 7.
    The Win 7 users have, at all time, problems with net connection loss in Access (the computers are still able to reach the net, just the access looses the connection), but Win xp users dont have this prob.
    There seems to be some kind of “connection refresh” in Win 7 that changes something in the connection and makes Access to loose it.
    Are you aware of this problem and know something about it?
    Thanks for your help.

Leave a Reply

